COVID-19: Ibiza, Majorca, others moved to amber travel list

The Balearic Islands are being placed on the government’s amber travel list for England starting Monday, July 19.

As Brits prepare to return to pre-COVID-19 normalcy, it appears traveling to other countries would still be subjected to some restrictions.

Popular summer destinations such as Ibiza, Majorca, Menorca and Formentera are being moved onto the government’s amber travel list for England.

The Balearic Islands are being added to this list from Monday, July 19, 15 days after they were placed on the green list.

The Scottish and Welsh governments said they will do the same, and Northern Ireland is expected to follow suit.

What does it mean?

The three-tier traffic light system was introduced in May and works by separating countries into a green, amber and red list of destinations, each carrying different restrictions for arrivals back into the UK.

The latest review announced by the transport secretary, Grant Shapps means that from Monday, only people aged over 18 who are not fully vaccinated will still have to quarantine on returning from an amber list country.

The amber list has almost 150 nations on it such as France, Spain and Greece— favourite holiday destinations amongst Brits.

People returning from holidays in amber destinations will still be required to take a Covid-19 test three days before returning.

Arrivals will also have to take a test on or before the second day of their return, as per the previous restrictions, but will be exempted from the day-eight test.

Things could still change

Shapps said the rate of cases being recorded in the Balearic Islands had doubled since they were added to the green watchlist, which meant the government needed to 'move quickly'.

He also warned that people travelling abroad this summer will need to make sure they can get their money back or rebook their accommodation, adding that

no-one can be out there thinking we can travel and just rely on things not changing.

The British Virgin Islands are also moving to the amber list, while Cuba, Indonesia, Myanmar and Sierra Leone will be moved to the strictest red list.

Bulgaria and Hong Kong will move to the green list, while Croatia and Taiwan join the green watchlist, which means they are at risk of being moved to amber.

Here is a full breakdown of countries on the reviewed traffic light system.

Covid-19: France to ease travel restrictions for the UK Covid-19: France to ease travel restrictions for the UK