We have good news for people concerned about their privacy! As part of the latest iOS 14 update, Apple has included a new feature that will let you know if someone is listening to you or watching you through your iPhone. Here’s how it works.
Among all the new releases and updates we’ve seen this year, some have attracted more attention than others, like the Apple Watch 6 for example, which includes an oximeter feature that could actually be useful in detecting severe cases of the Coronavirus. A lot of people have also been talking about the iOS 14 update recently, which lets iPhone users know if they are being listened to or watched through their mobile device.
Two little lights can make all the difference
It is now possible to know if your privacy is being breached with just a quick glance at your phone. If your microphone or camera is being used by an application, a coloured light indicator will appear at the top of the screen. An orange light will appear if your microphone is in use and a green dot will appear if your camera is being used.
Privacy is a fundamental human right and at the core of everything we do. That’s why with iOS 14, we’re giving you more control over the data you share and more transparency into how it’s used, explained Apple.
Another feature of the update is that it will allow you to see if an application has recently used your microphone or your camera in the Settings.
Apple goes even further
The company is doing even more to protect your privacy. Now, when an app asks to share your location, your phone will be able to give a rough geolocation instead of your exact location. We’re sure all Apple fans will be happy about that!